Responsibilities of the NSSO

The NSSO is a Government office with over 800 Civil Service staff based in seven offices across Ireland; one each in Galway and Tullamore, two in Killarney, and three in Dublin.

We provide Shared Services to our customers in the Civil and Public Service. We do not provide services to the general public.

The NSSO was established under the NSSO Act 2017. We apply the Government’s HR and payroll policies and procedures. All decision making, control and accountability remains with the client Government Department or Public Service Body (PSB) receiving services from the NSSO.

When Finance Shared Services goes live a single finance technology platform will replace 31 financial management systems and 31 reporting systems across Government departments and offices.